The word Apocryphon is a Greek term for “secret writings” – I’ve just blended the word with Arcade for Arcryphon. These writings will only be secret in that they probably won’t be seen by many people but that’s ok. I like the writing practice. 😉

Welcome to my new blog that is a place for me to write about stuff that doesn’t necessarily belong on ArcadeHeroes.com. I am proud of the work I have put into that site but it is a little more news-oriented (“newspinion” if you will) and sometimes there are other things that come along that don’t relate that I want to write about for whatever reason. I may still write about arcades though as those are still important to gaming, despite the embargo that most “all about gaming” websites happen to have.

That said this will be mostly thoughts on gaming. I might comment on space, movies/TV (although admittedly I do not watch a lot of TV at all anymore), general writing for new books, random musings, etc. I’m not sure how often I will update as my primary focus will still be AH and working my arcade business, and doing my arcade sales job on the side, and my family, all of which keep me very occupied.

Speaking of arcades, my son who is in 2nd grade had a class assignment where he had to take a picture with “Flat Stanley”, some papercut out boy that I guess is shared with classrooms around the country as a sort of modern penpal type deal. His favorite arcade game is by far Taito’s Dariusburst Another Chronicle which I have at the arcade and he took a picture with Flat Stanley sitting on that. Yesterday the teacher shared everyone’s pictures that were emailed to her and when it came to that picture apparently the class “went crazy”. The teacher had each student explain where and what it was about and so my son got to tell everyone about this amazing game that he plays every week and what arcades are. So for me this serves as anecdotal polling data that video arcades still have a cool factor to them with kids; it also would be the only school in the hemisphere where kids would be going crazy about a Dariusburst, which is sadly obscure to the gaming market at large.

Anyways, hopefully my ramblings are worth your time. Thanks for dropping by and check back!

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

