So the next installment of Halo was announced yesterday. I dunno, nothing to get excited about so far from what I can see. It looks like you’ll be able to choose a different character but I kind of lost interest in Halo after I finished Halo 3 after a short run (seems like it was just a few hours for the single player campaign but I haven’t picked the game up in a few years). I noticed something about this announcement that is related to what I mentioned about the next generation of game consoles, in particular that it won’t be until 2015 at least until they start having enough exclusive games to make it worth the price tag (well the Xbox One and PS4, WiiU has a decent roster already). With Fall 2015 as the date for Halo 5, that seems to back up the idea. Of course I will need to wait and see how this will play out. Maybe it will be amazing and fresh. Or it will be more of the same, I’m not going to try and predict anything in that fashion.

Like everyone else I played Halo split-screen with friends back in 2003 and we linked Xbox First’s (Xbox First is my name for the original thanks to the brilliantly stupid idea to call this one the Xbox One) together on occasion which was fun. We did the same for Halo 2 before that became boring but on 3 I don’t think we did anything like that at all. Halo 3 was underwhelming enough for me that I haven’t bothered to play 4 at all. It’s kind of the same with Call of Duty. I played CoD 2-7, mostly 4 and 5 because I used to have a network of 8 PCs at my arcade and those were the only games 99% of my customers wanted to play. It was beneficial for me as the admin to play on the network or setup a match for the kids but I really got burned out on CoD really quickly. Now that I don’t have that PC network anymore I haven’t touched the last two CoD installments and my time spent on FPS games has diminished a bit over the past couple of years. The only on that interested me for a while was Xonotic, which I should check on to see if there are any updates. Perhaps the new game Minimum can rekindle some interest in FPS, I still need to give that beta a shot.

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

