Ok another quickie:

Nintendo E3 Videos

I think Nintendo knocked it out of the park this time around. It was much more satisfying to see what they had in store compared to E32013. There was a lot of moaning about them not having the Digital Event in front of a bunch of press people or paid for audience members but that is fine by me. I don’t need the oh’s aw’s and wow’s from other people to convince me of what I am surprised by or liked. I guess there is satisfaction in getting your own emotions from these reaffirmed by others, but when it comes to video games, I don’t always agree with others in the wide range of “gamerdom” anyways.

So what Nintendo did better than Microsoft or Sony was: 1) They primarily showed gameplay as opposed to a bunch of pre-rendered stuff. I spoke with someone who loves The Last Of Us who said that there was maybe an entire 1 second of gameplay found in the trailer for the remastered game. Granted the pre-rendered parlor trick has been used to great effect since the 90s, duping low-information gamers into thinking that the game looks like that. Game action >>>> rendered cut-scenes 2) They offered up surprises that were satisfying, such as Bayonetta 1 coming with Bayonetta 2 retail; Splatoon was also a big surprise 3) Just about everything they showed was exclusive to the WiiU whereas MS and Sony have to quietly mention that some of the big games are coming out for competitive platforms. 4) They stuck to their guns about trying new ideas like Splatoon, Project Guard. It’s nonsense that anyone has called for them to remove the gamepad from the system, as though that is as throwaway to the function of the console like the Kinect on X1.

So Nintendo pulled off the moments one can remember; I recall a little from Microsoft and I strain on the Sony stuff. For all three companies and game consoles, 2015 is going to be a really awesome year. In the meantime I’m really looking forward to Hyrule Warriors, which has just gotten better with more showings. If there is any fault then I guess it could be in how they continue to handle the Virtual Console, which needs to change.

Soon, hopefully some arcade waves at E3. I’m working to make that happen, with at least one game that has not been seen worldwide yet but talked about in the past on Arcade Heroes.

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

