I know you’re “supposed” to post something about the Dreamcast on its birthday but honestly I don’t care too much about what I’m supposed to do as a game blogger. Whatever.

But recently for some reason I can’t exactly explain, I pulled my Dreamcast out of storage and played some games. Unfortunately the collection of games I have isn’t the greatest – there are a few decent titles I have including Soulcalibur II, Record of Lodoss War, SF Rush 2049, Gauntlet Legends but I have some others which I received when I bought my Dreamcast from a seller in CA a few years back that I just don’t care for too much. I need to beef up my collection.

The homebrew scene for the system is alive and well which is great and the main reason for this post is that today I found out about a new project that goes by the name of SLaVE. It is an FPS with what looks to be bland polygons but with some lighting effects to make them artistic and it is all about fast-paced blasting. They mention that the game flow is supposed to hearken back to the days of 80s shooters which were generally top-down scrolling games. I look forward to seeing how this turns out and in the meantime I should probably get my hands on Strumwind while I still can.

Here are some Alpha build shots from Dreamcastscene.com

Slave-Alpha-8

Slave-Alpha-5

Slave-Alpha-4

 

 

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

