Growing up as a fan of Atari, I usually didn’t know anything about the players behind the scenes that made all of those games and hardware possible. Only years later when the internet became a thing that was available in any home with the computer did you start to hear names like Jack Tramiel. I also was not on the Commodore 64 bandwagon during the 80s, none of my friends had one but a couple had some Atari computers like the 800XL. As I would learn, Jack Tramiel would also become a part of Atari’s history and even though I missed the boat, the C64 was of huge importance to the computer and video game market at large.

There is a new documentary in development called 8-Bit Generation where Tramiel and several other players behind the video game scene in the late 70s/early 80s are interviewed to offer up their perspective and history as to what took place in computing at the time. As far as I am aware, this is the last interview that Jack gave before he died. He didn’t give many interviews to begin with and it is nice to see as some of the descriptions I have read of him before made him sound like an angry & raspy sort of guy – which doesn’t seem to be the case. I look forward to seeing the final film for this, as I love video game history:

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

