Sorry about the lack of updates, most of my energies are at Arcade Heroes right now in covering all of the news from the IAAPA 2014 trade show, editing videos, still having to work two jobs, raising a family, etc.

But I wanted to get to this really quick. A short time ago on the AtariAge forums, one of the star homebrew developers, Bob “PacManPlus” DeCrescenzo, announced that he had a new project in the works for the Atari 7800 which was intended to release by Halloween. He didn’t reach that date but development continues.  Bob has developed titles for the system including FailSafe, Bentley Bear’s Crystal Quest and several arcade conversions like Pac-Man, Berzerk, Moon Cresta and others. Not too many Atari 7800 games have used 8-way scrolling so this one would definitely be a fresh concept.

One thing worth noting is that this just uses the stock Atari 7800 hardware. While the XM add-on is on the horizon it has not been made available quite yet; developers can also include extra RAM or CPUs into a cart but none have done so with a more ‘commercial’ release that I am aware of.

I look forward to seeing how this one pans out. If I had the time I would dedicate myself to learning how to code and do a few fun things for old Atari systems but I find myself busy enough as it is 😛

 

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

