As Atari stuff is my main schtick, let’s talk about what is going on in that universe real quick:

Wall Jump Ninja (Atari 2600) – The homebrew scene for the 2600 is the strongest out of the Atari’s and it is always interesting to see what concepts come to fruition. Simple and fun, that’s all you need.

Titan Axe (Atari 2600) – Yes, someone created a brawler along the lines of Golden Axe for the 2600. Since I haven’t played it I can’t comment on it beyond admiration for the ambition here.

Brik (Atari 2600) – There are various Breakout type games on the 2600 (including the original Breakout and Super Breakout) but this one feels closer to Arkanoid:

Quarrion (Atari XL/XE) – By MatoSimi, who created the superb Ridiculous Reality is a new puzzle game that will be available in a couple of days. It has a sort of rubik’s cube flavor to it but that isn’t 100% accurate to describe it – the video below works better:

RPG Tile Demo (Atari 7800) – This effort could be very useful for anyone wanting to use it as the foundation for an RPG. Granted, promises of RPG games in the Atari universe have been plentiful in the homebrew age but actual games to come from those promises have been in very short supply (particularly on the Lynx). As it is, it already reminds me of a fun game I played on DOS back in the day that I think was just called Dungeon Explorer (the generic name made it a little hard to find recently).

Wyvern Yales (Atari Lynx) – Speaking of the Lynx, the coder for a JRPG on the Lynx is stating that the project is not dead. It has been in development for 5 years but he has kept working on it and it is in testing. Just waiting for the cart announcement…

Alice’s Mom’s Rescue (Atari Jaguar) – Previously released on CD, you can now get the game on cart. I really need to get my JagCD fixed so I can play the Robinson’s Requiem game I picked up years ago.

This video shows the game in action, jump to about 4 min in for the game itself. The game was also released on the Sega Dreamcast. It reminds me of Jill of the Jungle but with even less violence.

Xevious (Atari Jaguar) – Can’t say I understand why a 1983 arcade game would be ported to the Atari Jaguar but here you go. All reports indicate that there were no enhancements made to the graphics, they are just aiming for a straight port.

xeviousjaguar

That’s all I have for now, I’ll see about doing a PC-DOS flashback post here soon…

About Shaggy

I addition to my professional work in the arcade industry which has ranged from operator to consultant, I like to write about other subjects that interest me as well...if I can find the time.

Leave a Reply

